Click image to download archive .pdf of the Sugar Hill Notebook

Early Years of the Club …

The Granite State Mini Sprint Racing Club, Inc. was founded in 1984 and at the end of the racing season had a total of 4 cars competing. The club had their first full season in 1985. With 7 cars competing and the membership in the club has steadily been increasing and now in 1994 we have over 100 members. The club was established as a NON-Profit family-oriented organization dedicated to the safe enjoyment and promotion of Mini Sprint Racing throughout the New England area. As a touring group, the club has raced at many dirt tracks as well as asphalt tracks throughout New England.

The club started with the 500cc stock division and has expanded to include a 600cc division that incorporates 500cc modified engines, 600cc single stroke engines, 250cc modified engines and a new addition of the 600 multi cylinder stock engines.

The old Sugarhill Speedway was the club’s home track and most of the racing was done on the 1/8-mile clay oval for many years. Touring involved going to tracks like Bear Ridge Speedway, Canaan Speedway, Norway Pines, HI Groove Speedway, and even a country fair show. Asphalt tracks like Lee USA, Riverside, Claremont International Speedway, Riverside Park Speedway, Hudson Speedway, and some indoor racing at the Coliseum in New Haven, CT. and the Racefest in Springfield, MA. The club participates in the various car shows around New England and has won many awards for best display and the appearance of our cars.

This club has had many father and son teams and occasionally a father and daughter team as well as many second-generation drivers. The club had a ladies’ division for a season in 1991 that saw six women compete for a championship. Audrey Benson won the championship in 1991. Other women have competed with the men over the years and the 1994 “Rookie” of the year for the 500cc division was Jessica Vintinner #13. The club has had over the years and has now many dedicated members helping to make this club grow and become more recognized. The club is governed by a Board of Directors elected yearly by the membership. We have had some outstanding leadership over the years and a special mention should be made of Denzil Rice a past president of the club Denzil started the annual Presidents Cup that was a run for five consecutive years.

Click image to download archive .pdf of the 1992 Awards Banquet
Click image to download .pdf of the current rulebook

The members of the Granite State Mini Sprints (aka GSMS) compete in cars utilizing motorcycle engines and drive components. Their specifications are restrictive to emphasize driver ability rather than design or preparation of the car.

The club is a non-profit, family-oriented organization dedicated to the enjoyment of mini-sprint racing. The clubs’ format provides a high level of camaraderie and opportunities for racers to share a wealth of knowledge and assistance.

It has been proven that those who follow the rules and regulations have the most successful operations. Therefore, we urge everyone to do his or her part in making this rulebook workable.